Alumni Volunteer Corps

2018 - 19 Alumni Volunteer Corps members pictured on "Twin Day" during Homecoming Spirit Week.
Top Row (left to right): Riley Benson '14, Stephen Hansknecht '14, Brett Guest '13
Middle Row (left to right): Evan Cassar '12, Daniel Kolpasky '14, Marc Wautelet '14
Bottom Row (left to right): Matthew Comment '14, Nicholas Mularoni '14, Brendan Lopus '14


Apply Online

What is the AVC?
The Alumni Volunteer Corps (AVC) is a nine-month program covering one school year for graduates of U of D Jesuit. The AVC program provides the opportunity for alumni to use their talents and energies to benefit the U of D Jesuit community on a daily basis. The AVC program helps fill the needs of the school while offering young alumni the chance to be "Men for Others."

What does an AVC do?
AVC members develop a schedule which fits their interests with the needs of the school. The AVC program offers a unique opportunity to influence students in many different ways. The great teachers at The High, past and current, have affected each of us. Teachers such as Mr. Hafner or Mr. Coyne have changed the lives of thousands of young men. Now is your chance to do the same.

What are the benefits?

  • Free housing in a five bedroom home
  • Free utilities
  • Small living stipend
  • Wide range of work experience
  • The challenge to serve others
  • The chance to develop spiritually
  • The opportunity to be part of the excitement as U of D Jesuit and the city of Detroit grow

How does the AVC live?
The AVC live as a community between two school-owned houses located near the campus. They share meals together regularly as well as household responsibilities. The AVC community also interacts with the Jesuit community on a weekly basis at the Jesuit Residence.

Who is eligible for the AVC?
Primary consideration will be given to graduates from U of D Jesuit. Secondary consideration will be given to applicants from other Jesuit high schools. All applicants:

  • must have a degree from a four-year college or university
  • should be dedicated to a year of service and to communal activities
  • should be willing to work with students, parents, faculty and administrators
  • should possess the desire to challenge yourself both at work and at home


Mr. Kyle Chandler '99
AVC Coordinator
Phone: 313-862-5400

Past AVC's have included:

Andrew Barringer '03
Jeremy Bass '08
Mark Bealin '02
John Bernard '10
Jacob Best '12
John Cahalan '04
Richard Calice '97
James Casey '91
David Cassleman '08
Sean Cassleman '02
Paul Castelli '05
Jeffrey Cavanaugh '12
Kyle Chandler '99
Patrick Clancy '04
Matthew Clark '98
Patrick Cleary '98
Dominic Coccitti-Smith '04
Michael Costello '09
Chris Dael '10
Stuart Daly '92
Alexander Davidson '06
John DeFour '05
Jack Dekovich '03
John Donnelly '99
Matthew Dorsch '01
Warren Dubitsky '00
Brendan Dunleavy '11
Brian Dunn '92
Keith Farrugia '05
Anthony Fattore '10
William Fattore '11
Michael Fox '03
Michael Gavin '95
Leo Gibson '93
Michael Gibson '95

Andrew Goodman '97
James Goodman '99
Peter Guenther '92
David Gumbel '00
Ralph Gunn '10
Jake Hirzel (Toledo St. John's) '95
Peter Hayden '08
Andrew Hoff '04
Joseph Jacobs '06
Jonathan Jorissen '98
Joseph Kelly '91
Daniel Kirkland '97
Jonathan Kirkland '07
Aleksandr Kokoszka '98
Adam Kronk '98
Andrew Lepczyk '12
James Louisell '99
Daniel Maccio '08
Robert Maghielse '12
Paul Mansoor '01
Joseph McCarthy '92
James McClain '02
Daniel McElgunn '99
Duncan McGuire '09
Matthew Milewski '93
Jacob Mikula '07
Michael Miller '92
Rob Mills '10
Stephen Monette '07
James Moravek '96
John Moravek '98
Dennis Morey '00
Kevin Morin '98
Brendan Moylan '09
Oscar Olejniczak '91
Timothy Ossman '08
Edward Perozek (Toledo St. John's) '91
Michael Perrotta '95
Isaac Piepszowski '12
Andrew Pierce '07
Michael Porth '00
Brandon Porwoll '01
Jordan Ramirez '09
Michael Raymond '07
John Rhoades '03
Andrew Riedy '05
Aaron Rife '11
Jeff Rizik '10
Christopher Ruemenapp '09
Daniel Ruemenapp '07
Robert Runyan '02
John Shanley '10
Nicholas Stephanoff '02
Jon Stevens '93
Matthew Tisdel '11
Louis Turner '06
Michael Van Tiem '05
Edward Ward '95
Peter Walle '11
Joseph Ward '01
Zachary Weaver '09
Justin Westlund '00
Thomas Willis '95
Christopher Wilson '05
Daniel Yezbick '91