Skip To Main Content

Alumnus of the Year

The distinguished Alumnus of the Year honoree is acknowledged at the annual Alumni Senior luncheon, a tradition that began in 1987.

This award is presented to an alumnus who sets and achieves exemplary standards for himself personally as well as his chosen fields. To be nominated for the award, an alumnus must meet the following criteria: His outstanding loyalty and support of U of D Jesuit serves as an example to all members of the U of D Jesuit Community. He has distinguished himself through outstanding achievement in his chosen field or profession. He uses his talents and skills for those in need, consistent with the theme "Men for Others." He serves as a positive role model for U of D Jesuit students through consistent application of high moral and ethical standards. Nominations for the award should be sent to the Alumni Office for consideration at

2019 Alumnus of the Year - Tom Capo '69

Tom Capo '69 was honored as Alumnus of the Year for 2019 at the 32nd Annual Alumni Senior Luncheon on April 17, 2019.

Listed alphabetically below are the individuals who have been recognized with the honor of

Alumnus of the Year.

Mike Alioto '66Monsignor Hickey '11Michael Parks '61
Eric Ayers '80Butch Hollowell '77Ed Parks '57
Tim Babcock '60Mario Iacobelli '56Tom Payne '47
Arthur Barkey '41David Jansen '73Douglas Pearl '22
Charlie Batcheller '54Frank Jerneycic '66Jerome Petz '33
David Bayne '35Jeff Jorissen '63Val Pieronek '35
Bill Blackwell '73Larry Joseph '66Dick Pieronek '44
Ray BonAnno '58Tom Kavanagh '34Cass Pieronek '40
Walter Booker '80Howard Keating '38Mitch Pieronek '42
Otis Brawley '77Terry Keating '56Michael Porter '71
Michael Brennan '38Dan Kelly '53Bernie Powell '30
Lawrence Britt '29Bill Kovacic '70George Reno '40
Dave Buchanan '57Dick Krajenke '40John Rhea '83
Frank Canfield '54Ed Kronk '64Ron Rice '90
Tom Capo '69John Kruse '44Don Sarin '53
Malcolm Carron '35John Langan '57Paul Schafer '28
Mike Cavanagh '58Elmore Leonard '43Carl Schmidt '37
Con Chapman '51Mike Leonatti '54Richard Schroeter '33
Thomas Conlan '30Raymond LeVeque '18John Schwarz '39
Jim Conlan '33Marshall Lochbiler '14John Shepanek '54
Guy Consolmagno '70Pat Longe '51Ed Shumaker '31
William Cooney '31Paul Louisell '67Gene Simon '43
Tom Coyne '62Art Loveley '31Toby Small '59
Jack Curley '63Hubert Maino '23Clarke Smith '60
Jim Curran '62Sal Malek '67Steve Snider '65
Walter Czarnecki '61Dan Malone '71Joseph Starrs '26
Bob Delonis '70John Malone '44Celestin Steiner '16
John Desmond '63Dave Marantette '26Rudy Stonisch '48
Terry Desmond '59Larry Marantette '67Bob Storen '58
Moe DesRosiers '55Bill McBrearty '19Bill Swain '40
Dan Devine '52Jack McCabe '38Father Sweeney '30
Tim Dinan '83Brian McCabe '44Jerry Tannian '53
Jim Dingeman '34Jim McDonald '57Rick Tarnas '68
Dave Doherty '54Pat McKeever '57Mike Tenbusch '87
Larry DuMouchelle'52Dick Measelle '56Paul Teranes '54
Tom Eckert '66Edward Miotke '16Jim Thompson '55
Charles Fellrath '25Jim Montie '64Mike Timmis '57
Robert Finley '22Frank Moran '36Ron Torina '65
Alfred Fisher, Jr ‘38George Morris '34Andrew Valenti '44
Norman Fredericks '31Chuck Muer '55Dan Varner '87
Edmund Gallagher '33Jerry Mularoni '47Larry Wisne '66
John Gregg '74Joseph Mulligan '61Vern Witkowski '37
Francis Hally '31James O'Hara '43Robert Witt '43
Edward Harrigan '22Tom O'Keefe '64Mel Woodbeck '29
Arthur Hayes '22Bill Oldani '30Michael Workings '77